Readings: Twentieth Sunday in Ordinary Time, August 19, 2012

Posted on 16 agosto, 2012

0


Readings: Twentieth Sunday in Ordinary Time, August 19, 2012


FIRST READING
READING THE BOOK OF PROVERBS 9, 1-6
Wisdom has built her house planting seven columns, has prepared the banquet, mixed the wine and set the table, has dispatched his servants to announce it in the points that dominate the city: “The inexperienced to come here, I’ll talk to those who lack judgment, come to eat my bread and drink my wine I have mixed; inexperience and let live, follow the path of prudence. “


Word of God


Responsorial Psalm
PSALM 33
A. – Taste and see GOOD IS THE LORD.
Bless the Lord at all times;
His praise is always in my mouth;
my soul glory in the Lord:
The humble will hear and be glad. A- 
All his saints, fear the Lord,
because nothing is lacking in those who fear him;
poorer and the rich are hungry,
those who seek the Lord lack nothing.  A- 
Come, children, listen:
I will teach you the fear of God;
Is there anyone who loves life
and wish happy days? A–
 
Keep your tongue from evil,
your lips, from falsehood;
depart from evil and do good,
seek peace and pursue it. A-


SECOND READING
READING OF THE LETTER OF PAUL TO THE EPHESIANS 5, 15-20
Siblings:
Look carefully how you walk, do not be foolish, but wise, seizing the opportunity, because they come bad days. So do not be stunned, realize what the Lord wants. Do not get drunk with wine, which leads to debauchery, but let yourself be filled with the Spirit. Recite, alternating, psalms, hymns and spiritual songs, singing and blow with all my heart for the Lord. Constantly Celebrate Thanksgiving to God the Father, all in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.


Word of God


HALLELUJAH Jn. 6, 57
Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood, ‘says the Lord – and lives in me and I in him.


GOSPEL
READING THE GOSPEL OF JOHN 6, 51-58
At that time Jesus said to people:
– I am the living bread which came down from heaven: he who eats this bread will live forever. And the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.
The Jews quarreled among themselves,
– How can this man give us his flesh to eat?
Jesus said to them:
– I assure you that if you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, ye have no life in you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day. My flesh is true food and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. As the living Father sent me and I live by the Father, even so he who eats me will live. This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever like this bread will live forever.


Word of the Lord

Source: http://www.betania.es

 

Posted in: Readings